City of Wheeling Parks & Recreation
Register Now

Park Commission

The Wheeling Park Commission was created by an act of the legislature of the State of West Virginia on March 5, 1935, for the purpose of managing the parks of the City of Wheeling. The state statute provides that the Commission shall have all and sole power necessary, convenient and advisable for the proper care, equipment and management of the parks and shall make such rules and regulations as it deems expedient for the care and management of the parks. The Wheeling Park Commission administers Oglebay Resort, Wheeling Park, and a couple satellite parks throughout the City of Wheeling.

R. Gregory McDermott
Susan Farnsworth
Wilbur S. Jones, Jr. - chair
David H. McKinley
Joan Stamp

The Commission consists of five members who are citizens of the City of Wheeling and serve without compensation. Members of the Commission are appointed by either the Board of Directors of the Wheeling Area Chamber of Commerce or by the City Manager.

For more information regarding the Park Commission or Oglebay-Wheeling Park, please contact the administrative offices of Oglebay Park at (304) 243-4000.


Wilbur S. Jones, Jr

Return to Previous List